Kelly Lytle's Stories
When we see you
Longing to go the distance
0:00
-1:54

Longing to go the distance

Friends- Tallboy Tuesday roared on this week with our theme: My Valentine.

We learned of one man’s love of making mold and of another’s enduring familial love. We survived the angst of teenage love and laughed at erotic romance.

Now, here’s my story for my Valentine…..

I run to you in the morning, before the sun is up.

And at night, when darkness surrounds us both.

It’s just us.

And I’m sweating. Panting. Lying with you.

Wanting to run. But unable to move.

You can be coarse and prickly.

But slippery when wet.

I cross all your lines. Longing to go the distance.

Sometimes others are there. And I feel their eyes on us. They’re younger. More spry. So full of life. And youth.

I’m older. And tired. I usually smell of last night’s gin.

Sometimes I just feel foolish.

I missed you in December. Again in January. February was too cold and you were too frosty.

But spring is in bloom. So the old desires are calling.

Cleveland St. Ignatius.

Calling me back to you. And your artificial turf practice fields where I can run my windsprints again.

With you, my valentine.

We love you.

And we’ll see you when we see you.

0 Comments
Kelly Lytle's Stories
When we see you
A place to slow down and experience life's moments through short stories about (mostly) real events.